Heartstrings Staff

Bunny Higgens

Bunny Higgins

Executive Director
bhiggins@heartstringscf.org

Rosanne Thiry

Rosanne Thiry

Director of Human Services
rosannethiry@heartstringscf.org

Anne Hull

Anne Hull

Founder of Heartstrings
anne@heartstringscf.org

Jonathan Watkins

Jonathan Watkins

Director of Operations
jwatkins@heartstringscf.org

Deb Mcquay

Deb McQuay

Office Manager/Job Coach
dmcquay@heartstringscf.org

Staff Kat Anstine

Kat Anstine

Director of Development
kanstine@heartstringscf.org

Claire Crowley

Claire Crowley

Goody Delivery Manager
ccrowley@heartstringscf.org

Mary Uhl

Mary Uhl

Store Manager,
Sacks on Santa Fe
muhl@heartstringscf.org

Kimbabcock

Kim Babcock

Team Leader
kbabcock@heartstringscf.org

Derek Crocker

Derek Crocker

Team Leader
dcrocker@heartstringscf.org

Sarah Ferguson

Sarah Ferguson

Team Leader
sferguson@heartstringscf.org

Rebecca Hayes

Rebecca Hayes

Transportation Coordinator/Team Leader
rhayes@heartstringscf.org

Amanda Henning

Amanda Henning

Team Leader & Retail Leader 1
ahenning@heartstringscf.org

Staff Chloe Mcelhaney

Chloe McElhaney

Team Leader
cmcelhaney@heartstringscf.org

Cathy Olson

Cathy Olson

Team Leader
colson@heartstringscf.org

Tisha Patterson

Tisha Anderson

Team Leader
tanderson@heartstringscf.org

Tony Stark

Tony Stark
Team Leader
rstark@heartstringscf.org

Katy Palmieri

Katy Palmieri
Billing Agent
kpalmieri@heartstringscf.org

Staff Linda Laney

Linda Laney
Team Leader
llaney@heartstringscf.org

Staff Jodee Williams
Jodee Williams
Team Leader jwilliams@heartstringscf.org

Bunny Higgins

Bunny Higgins graduated from Emporia State University with a B.S. in Rehabilitation Services and Education and a M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling.

Bunny has over 35 years of experience working in the human service field. She has served in a variety of positions, providing direct care as a nursing assistant, medication aid, restorative therapy, job development, job placement, and job coaching. Bunny continued her career at the administration level developing programs along with grant writing, financial and supervisory responsibilities.  She also traveled for 5 years with CARF (Commission of Accreditation Rehabilitation Facilities) as a surveyor. Her primary objective as a surveyor was quality and results.

Bunny started with Heartstrings Community Foundation as a consultant in September 2001. In January 2002 she was hired as the Program Developer and was promoted to Executive Director in 2004.

Heartstring Community Foundation has been a dream come true for Bunny. She has been instrumental in developing a service for adults with intellectual developmental disabilities like none other in the country. 

Bunny enjoys spending time with her grandchildren, reading inspirational books, traveling, horseback riding, and fly-fishing with Dennis her best friend and husband.

Bunny’s passion is assisting in making a lasting change in peoples’ lives.

Rosanne Thiry

Rosanne has a Bachelors of Arts in Education and Speech Pathology from Wichita State University and a Masters of Arts in Communicative Disorders and Sciences from Wichita State University. She has been at Heartstrings Community Foundation since 2003. Prior to joining Heartstrings, Rosanne worked as a Speech Clinician. She was also a QMRP Case Manager for a Residential Program.

Rosanne’s also enjoys her family (especially being a grandmother), cooking, reading and NASCAR.

Anne Hull

Heartstrings Community Foundation was founded by Anne Hull, a former Special Education teacher and a parent of two sons who have Fragile X Syndrome. After working with the school district very closely in an advisory capacity building new programs it became apparent that school life was a small part of a person’s lifespan. She began to research the adult agencies and found that life as an adult with developmental disabilities was often isolating and purposeless. Anne & Mack began searching for a model of service that would offer more. After several years, the idea became a reality in Oct. of 1999 when the articles of incorporation were filed for Heartstrings Community Foundation.

Anne has a B.S. in Special Education and taught in the public school system for 7 years.

She is a mother of 3 sons, 2 of whom have Fragile X Syndrome.

Anne remains active on many committees: Special Education Advisory Council, Transition Council and serves as commissioner of the Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns.

Anne is the founder of Heartstrings Community Foundation / Past President. She currently heads the Fundraising Committee, and previously served on the Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns.

Jonathan Watkins

Jonathan Watkins has been with Heartstrings since August of last year. He spent his first four months as a Team Leader before moving into a leadership role with our organization. He has a Bachelor’s in Business Administration from MidAmerica Nazarene University, and is currently pursuing his Master of Divinity degree from Fuller Theological Seminary. In his free time he enjoys spending time outdoors, reading, and visiting with family.

Deb McQuay

Over twenty years of experience working with adults with developmental disabilities in day service, residential and administration. Deb loves spending time with her family (especially her grandchildren), cooking, gardening, sports including NASCAR, and teaching her grandchildren. She is passionate about doing her best with helping others to succeed.

Kat Anstine

Armed with a background in marketing, management, operations, implementation and coaching within B2B, B2C, nonprofits and not-for-profits, Kat is committeed to empowering those that serve the greater good.

After getting her B.S. of Public Relations from Northwest Missouri State University, Kat has been blessed with a successful, 15+ year career with positions as a Business Develop Executive, Ad Director, Marketing Manger and Chief Operating Officer among others.

She uses her position to flex her listening, curiosity and creativity muscles, and enjoys every step of the process. Kat loves music, painting, traveling and spending time with her hero of a husband, friends and giant family – including 21 nieces & nephews and 10 great nieces & great nephews.

Claire Crowley

Started at HCF® in January of 2017 

Education: Bachelor of Science Degree in Human Development and Family Sciences from the University of Missouri-Columbia 

Work Experience: Previous Assistant Goody Delivery Manager and Team Leader at HCF® 

Hobbies: Going to movies, Kansas City sporting events, and concerts with my husband, Ryan. Frequent visits to Northwest Missouri to see my parents, grandparents, siblings, and friends. Going on long walks with my adorable Labradoodle, Sadie. 

Goals: Starting a Master’s Degree within two years and continuing to grow and gain experience at HCF®.